San Jose Parish Governance
Table of Contents
7.2 Catholic Newspapers
7.4 Parish and Pastoral Councils
7.6 Sunday Bulletin
7.7 Sunday Collections
San José Parish has distributed Liturgical calendars since at least 1962. The calendars contain information about both secular and religious holidays, saint's feast days, solemnities and even the color of the vestments worn by the priests. The calendars are highly valued by parishioners. The artwork is sometimes superb. The tab on the back cover (that is always visible) contains the name of the church, names of pastor, Associate Pastor and deacons, address, contact information and the schedule of Masses. Next to the church information is the name and address of the sponsor. At San José Parish, the sponsor was often a funeral home. The first calendar, for 1963, was sponsored by Angel Funeral Home and Town and Country Store (223:12/30/62).
The calendars were usually distributed at Christmas (223:26/12/82). Distribution of the calendars was problematic. If the calendars were distributed at the church entrance, some parishioners might not get a calendar "because many visiting the church would take one and the supply of calendars would be depleted before many of our parishioners would get theirs" (223:30/09/83). The church ordered only enough calendars for one per family (223:08/01/1989). For this reason, the calendars were sometimes mailed to the home address of registered parishioners (223:30/09/83). Calendars were mailed from 1983 until 1987, distributed at the church door in 1988 and 1989 and mailed in 1990 and 1991 (223:30/12/84) (223:06/01/1985) (223: 08/12/1985) (223:30/11/1986) (223: 27/12/1987) (223:25/12/1988) (223:01/01/1989) (223:17/12/1989).
Mailing the calendars had the added advantage that unregistered families were encouraged to register with the parish in order to receive a free calendar. In January 1985 and 1987, the Pastor commented that, "If you didn't get a Calendar in the mail it means you aren't registered in the Parish" (223:13/01/1985) (223:04/01/1987). Any calendars left over were distributed in January (223:02/01/1983) (223:28/01/1990) (223: 20/01/1991) or were available in the church office (223:03/02/1991) (223:17/01/1993) (223:18/04/1993). In October 1992, Catholic Calendars were available in the foyer of the church. The church purchased a large quantity of the calendars to distribute during the Evangelistic Census but there were only a few volunteers for the Census and there were a number of calendars left over (223:11/10/1992).
Sometimes, there were separate English and Spanish versions (223:13/01/1985) but usually the calendars were bilingual. Usually the cover consisted of religious art but occasionally it was something else. The 1989 and 1990 calendar featured, "a beautiful picture of our New Church in color on our calendar this year" (223:25/12/1988) (223:01/01/1989). A parishioner, Isaac Cisneros, took the photos used in the 1991 Calendar. He also prepared the slides for the songs projected on the screen during Masses. "He has been doing this for years" (223:03/02/1991).
In 1986, the sponsors of the calendar were George and Rebecca Arrendondo (owners of "Casita Jorge's Mexican Food"), Matt Martinez (owner of "Matt's El Rancho") and Ralph Rivera (owner of "Ralph's Air Conditioning and Appliance Service") (223:15/12/1985). In 1987, the following businesses advertised in the calendars and paid for them: Casita Jorge's Restaurant, Thomas Esparza, Jr. Attorney and Matt's El Rancho restaurant (223:04/01/1987).
In August 1993, Joe Ramos, the church bookkeeper, was looking for four sponsors to pay $700 each for an ad in the 1994 Church Calendar. The calendar would be mailed in early December to each of the 3,800 registered families (223:01/08/1993). In 2010 and 2011, the advertiser was Cook-Walden Funeral Homes. In 2012 through 2014, the sponsor was Angel Funeral Homes.
Southern Messenger was published in San Antonio from 1893 until 1957. It was an independent newspaper owned by the Menger family of San Antonio. The newspaper was sold to the Catholic Archdiocese of San Antonio in 1957. The Archdiocese of San Antonio founded the Alamo Register in 1941 and it soon became the largest Catholic newspaper in the Southwest. After the Archdiocese purchased the Southern Messenger, the Alamo Register became the Alamo Messenger. These two newspapers were the only English-language Catholic newspapers in Texas for many years (Texas State Historical Association). The Alamo Messenger changed its name to Today's Catholic in 1972 and remains the official newspaper of the Diocese of San Antonio.
Rev. Thomas Culhane, C.S.C., mentioned that a photograph taken at San José Church in 1941 or 1942 was published in the Diocesan newspaper but no such newspaper has been found to exist. He may have been referring to the Southern Messenger. A copy of the photograph, showing children after their First Communion, Rev. Mendez and several Holy Cross Sisters is in the San José Parish Archives. The photo looks like a it was made by a professional photographer. A national Catholic news magazine, Our Sunday Visitor, has been published since 1912. In 1958 Our Sunday Visitor published a Lone Star Catholic Edition called Catholic Action of the South. This newspaper did not exist in the early 1940s.
The Diocese of Austin published Lone Star Catholic from 1957 until 1961, Lone Star Register from 1961 until 1968 and Texas Catholic Herald, Diocese of Austin edition, from 1968 until 1980 when it suspended publication. A Diocesan newspaper was revived as the Catholic Journal in 1982 and continues to operate today. It became the Catholic Spirit in 1983
(Catholic Journalism, Handbook of Texas Online, tsaonline.org/handbook, accessed Sept. 16, 2018).
When the Diocesan newspaper was revived in 1982 as the Catholic Journal, the Diocese mailed a copy to all San Jose parishioners to encourage them to subscribe (223:26/09/82). Similar, a complimentary copy of the "Catholic Spirit" was mailed to each registered family in October 1988. They were encouraged to subscribe (223:09/10/1988). The next year, free copies of the Catholic Spirit were distributed after Masses and parishioners were encouraged to subscribe for $9 per year (223:30/04/89). In 2018 the subscription price was $12 per year but parishioners of Catholic Churches in the Diocese get a reduced rate. Some parishes subscribe on behalf of their parishioners.
The Sunday Bulletin of San Jose on February13, 1983 mentioned that the last issue of Voice (official publication of the Diocesan Office for Hispanic Ministry and Evangelization) carried an article on the history of San Jose Parish. The next issue would have another article on San Jose covering current activities. The address of the New Voice was Our Voice, El Hogar Del Pueblo, 3010 Lyons Road, Austin 78702. It was a monthly magazine (223:13/02/83).
Between 1969 and 2016, the parish made plans for the publication of a church directory on at least four occasions. In 1969, the parish published a directory (193). In November 1973, the Sunday Bulletin announced that a photographer was taking pictures of parishioners for a church directory (249:18/11/73). This church directory with photos of parishioners was delivered to the priest's house in March 1975 (223:02/03/75).
In February 1979, the Sunday Bulletin announced that another Parish Directory would be published. Each family was telephoned to set up an appointment time (223:04/03/79) and people were asked to choose one proof to go into the directory (223:15/04/79). Purchasing prints of the photos was optional but each family would receive a directory for themselves (223:25/02/79).
In 1980, United Church Directories of Galion, Ohio delivered a San Jose Church Directory. It had 16 photos of parish events, 195 family group photos and a membership roster containing name, address and telephone numbers of 945 registered families. Brother William Dunn, C.S.C., of St. Edward's University contributed "A History of Forty Years, 1939-1979 of San Jose Parish" that was bound into the directory (58).
The photos in the 1980 directory were of the pastor, Rev. John S. Korcsmar, C.S.C., the parish staff, the four largest sodalities (the Socios, Guadalupanas, Catholic Adult Organization and Catholic Youth Organization), CCD, the three Sunday choirs and the Altar Boys (58).
In February 1987, parishioners were asked to fill out a questionnaire for a parish booklet and return the form to a box at the entrance of the church (223:08/02/1987). This may have been part of the preparation for the 50th Anniversary celebration that was planned for August 27, 1989. A booklet was published for the 50th Anniversary of the parish but it did not have a roster of registered families (242).
In June 2016, representatives from the firm that published the 1980 San Jose Church directory returned to San Jose parish to take photos of parishioners. The photography session was free but parishioners were encouraged to purchase prints. As of August 2018, that directory has not been delivered.
Parish Council and Pastoral Council and Finance Council
Parish Councils were formed in response to the Vatican II Decree on the Apostolate of Lay People published in 1965. The decree recommended the establishment of councils at all levels of the Catholic Church to assist the Church's "apostolate" or mission. Many Catholics interpreted the decree as calling for parish councils that would coordinate parish committees or commissions (Wikipedia, Pastoral Council).
Parish Councils that formed in the 1960s were more powerful than the Pastoral Councils that replaced them after 1983. Parish Councils were more than consultative bodies and this ultimately brought some Parish Councils into conflict with the parish administrator. The conflict was resolved by abolishing the Parish Councils.
1st appointed Parish Council
Rev. Joseph Houser, C.S.C., appointed the members of the first San José Parish Council. In January 1967, the Sunday Bulletin announced that a Parish Committee would meet on Tuesday, January 22 at 7:30PM in the school. The following people are asked to attend. They were instructed to bring two others with them, either men or women: Lorenzo Hernandez, Jesse Ortiz, Paulita Sanchez, Trinidad Ramirez, José Uriegas, Tomas Longoria, Mario Calderon, Mary Ann Macias, Olivia Macias, Mary Garcia, Mary Sanchez, the Sister Superior (Sister Angelina), Assistant Pastor (Rev. Francis S. Bennett) and Pastor (Rev. Joseph Houser). "Out of all these we shall elect officers" (223:01/22/67).
In February, Fr. Houser wrote in the Sunday Bulletin, "Parish Council was formed on the organization of the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine. When asked to become a member, do so. Any parish subject may be discussed" (223:02/05/67). The officers were identified as José Rocha, President; Pete Casarez, Vice President; Mary Ann Macias, Secretary and Fernando Sanchez, Treasurer. The officers formed an Executive Board. Leaders of committees included Olivia Macias-Teachers of Religion; Manuel Castillo-Home Visitors; Jose Uriegas-Helpers and Social Action; Enrique Saenz-Discussion Clubs; Jose Treviño-Parent Educators; Nick Rocha-Apostles of Good Will. Other members of the parish council were Jose Galvan, Andre Rocha, Celia Guerra, Josefa Flores, Anita Guerra, Trinidad Ramirez, Pete Casarez, Jose Nuñez, Gabrial Guardiola, Lorenzo Hernandez, Pete Castillo, Frank Resendez, Frank Castruita, Jesse Ortiz, Tomas Longoria, Mary Sanchez, Mario Calderon, Mary Garcia and Paulita Sanchez (223:02/19/67).
The February 19, 1967 Sunday Bulletin explained in detail the structure of the new council (223:02/19/67). In May, the Parish Council met on Tuesday in the school. "Let the officers and chairmen come with their assistants," said Father Houser (223:05/14/67).
Soon after establishing the Parish Council, Fr. Houser left the parish. On July 2, 1967 Fr. Houser offered his final Mass at San Jose and attended a reception on the church grounds to say farewell to the parishioners. At 8:00PM, he delivered his final speech to his former parishioners.
1st nominated Parish Council
Rev. John Haley and Rev. Mike Mikan, C.S.C., replaced Rev. Houser as the parish priests in July 1967. They began a change in governance that resulted in the formation of an elected parish council (223:09/16/67). Haley reformed the existing Parish Council by having parishioners nominate members of the council (12). He asked each parishioner of San José to nominate six persons to the council. The pastor appointed twelve persons to the council from the list of members nominated by the parishioners. The reason for this change was explained in the Sunday Bulletin of July 16 (223:07/16/67).
The names of 22 persons elected to the Parish Council were printed in the Sunday Bulletin on July 23 (223:07/23/67). The first meeting of the new council took place in the school at 7:30PM on the same day. The members were Botello, Pete; Calderon, Luis; Casarez, Pete; Castillo, Manuel; Castruita, Frank; Dunlap, Jim; Goria, Joe; Guerra, Celia; Guerra, Sam; Guerrero, Henry; Gutierrez, Gabriel; Juarez, Joe; Longoria, Tom; Perales, Roy; Pinget, Jim; Rocha, Joe; Saenz, Henry; Saldana, Moses; Sanchez, Fernando; Tomayo, Gabriel; Treviño, Francis and Uriegas, Joe (223:07/23/67).
The Council met on August 22, 1967 and elected Henry Saenz President, Joe Juarez Vice President, Joe Garcia Secretary-Treasurer and Pete Casarez Parliamentarian. The council voted to have a "Scrape and Paint Day" on September 9 to paint the convent where the teaching Sisters lived (223:08/27/67). Work on the convent continued throughout the month of September.
On November 2, 1967, the Parish Council met after 7:15PM Mass (223:10/29/67). They published a Special Report in the Sunday Bulletin detailing their activities (223:11/12/67). Committee meetings were scheduled ahead of the December meeting.
The five committees were encouraged to meet prior to the general meetings and one of the priests tried to attend each committee meeting (223:11/26/67). The five committees and the chairs were: Liturgical and Spiritual, Mr. Roy Perales; Educational, Mr. James Pinget; Youth, Mr. Joe Sanchez; Parish Life and Social, Mr. Henry Guerrero; Finance and Planning, Mr. Sam Guerra (223:12/10/67).
On January 16, 1968, the Parish Council met on Tuesday at 7:30PM in the school meeting room (223:01/14/68). The February 19 meeting was Monday (223:02/18/68). In March, the Parish Council published a booklet explaining the functions of the parish council (213). When the Parish Council met in school library in March (223:03/17/68), the first order of business was to set the school teachers' salaries and form an education research committee. The education committee consisted of the school principal Sister Angelina and four members of Council (213).
The April 1968 meeting was devoted to formulating a recommendation to the Bishop about whether or not to keep the 7th and 8th grades of the parochial school open for next school year. The Council also made final preparations for the May 5 Bazaar at the Municipal Auditorium (223:04/21/68).
During the period August 1967 until June 1968, the roster of Parish Council members included:
Rev. Mike Mikan, ex oficio
Rev. John Hailey, ex oficio
Sister Angelina, ex oficio
2nd Parish Council, 1st elected Council
Members of the Parish Council were appointed for three year terms but the decision was made to have one-third of the Council elected every year. This meant one-third of the existing members had to leave after only one year of service. At the end of the first year, the parish council selected the eight members to continue for another year (Luis Calderon, Pete Casarez, Manuel Castillo, Roy Perales, Enrique Saenz, Joe Sanchez, Evangeline Briones and Frances Treviño) and seven others to continue for two more years (Gabriel Gutierrez, Frank Castruita, Joe Galvan, Celia Guerra, Moses Saldana, Tim Torres and Fernando Sanchez). The remaining six members (Joe G. Garcia, Tom Longoria, Jim Pinget, Joe Rocha, Joe Uriegas and Henry Guerrero) rotated off the council (unless they were re-elected). (Evangeline Briones and Gabe Gutierrez were selected by council to replace Sam Guerra and Pete Botello who resigned during the previous year).
On Sunday, September 8, 1968, slips of paper were passed out in the church and each parishioner was asked to nominate six persons to serve on the council for three year terms (223:09/01/68). Eight positions had to be filled (223:09/08/68). The Sunday Bulletin listed all current council members and those who were on the council last year and who could be re-elected (223:09/08/68).
The new Council met at the school on September 16 to elect officers. The new officers were Henry Guerrero, Chairman; Tom Longoria Vice-Chairman and Evangeline Briones, Secretary. A committee was created to reexamine how council members were to be elected in the future (213). In October, the committee reported back to Council. Ben Vega presented an electoral map to the council. Under this plan, two members would be elected from each electoral district each year. The parish council voted 8 to 5 to adopt the map (213).
During the period August 1968 until July 1969, the roster of Parish Council members included:
Longoria, Tom (213).
On September 1968, the Sunday Bulletin listed the following members of the new council (including those elected to fill vacancies):
Those elected to fill vacancies were
Vega, Ben (223:09/15/68).
The roster of Parish Council members in September 1969, with the length of their term, was
Canut, Rosie, term 1 year
Casarez, Gene, term 1 year
Casarez, Pete, term 3 years
Castillo, Manual, term 3 years
Castruita, Frank, term 1 year
Guerra, Celia, term 1 year
Guerra, Sam, term 1 year
Guerrero, Henry, 2 years
Ibarra, Roger, term 3 years
Longoria, Tom, 2 years
Mercado, Albert, 2 years
Perales, Roy, term 3 years
Rios, Perfirio, term 3 years
Rodriguez, Raymond, term 3 years
Rocha, Joe, term 1 year
Saenz, Henry, term 3 years
Sanchez, Fernando, term 1 year
Sanchez, Joe, term 3 years
Segura, Julian, 2 years
Tamayo, Albert, 2 years
Tamayo, Pete, term 1 year
Uriegas, Joe, 2 years
Vasquez, Lupe, 2 years (replaced by Frank Mendez, Oct. 1969)
Vega, Ben, 2 years (213).
In October 1968, the Sunday Bulletin listed the following Parish Council officers and committees. The officers were Henry Guerrero, Chairman; Tom Longoria Vice-Chairman and Evangeline Briones, Secretary-Treasurer. The committees were:
Liturgical and Spiritual Committee: Tom Longoria, Ray Arriaga, Ray Cortez, Joe Sanchez, Ben Vega, Roy Perales and Pete Casarez
Youth Committee: Joe Sanchez, Joe Uriegas, Enrique Saenz, Evangeline Briones and Tim Torres
Education Committee: Ben Vega, Frank Castruita, Gabriel Gutierrez, Florencio Soliz, Lupe Vasquez, Enrique Saenz, Moses Saldana and Sister Mary Angelina Álvarez
Parish Life and Social: Ray Cortéz, Frank Castruita, Ray Arriaga, Celia Guerra, Joe Rocha and Luis Calderon
Finance and Planning Committee: Manuel Castillo, Lupe Vásquez, Fernando Sanchez, Joe Garcia, Joe Uriegas, Gabriel Gutierrez and Joe Rocha (223: 10/06/68).
The Council met monthly (223:10/20/68) with committees meeting a day or two before the full Council met (223:07/13/69). In March 1969, the parish council met with the bazaar volunteers in the school to plan the May 4 fiesta (223:03/16/69).
2nd elected Council
Parish Council elections were scheduled for Sunday, August 17, 1969. The ushers were in charge of the voting. Seven members were elected (or re-elected) to replace those whose term had ended. Those whose term ended were Pete Casarez, Manuel Castillo, Evangeline Briones, Luis Calderon, Roy Perales, Enrique Saena, Joe Sanchez and Joe Gracia (223:08/03/69). Luis Calderon was not eligible for re-election (223:08/10/69) because he had moved to Montopolis (223:08/17/69). The election of August 17 selected persons to fill eight vacancies. Sister Mary Angelina Álvarez, Fathers John Haley, Mike Mikan and Bob Gilmore were also members (223:08/31/69).
When the new Council met in September, it elected Henry Guerrero Chairman; Pete Casarez, Vice Chairman and Rosie Cantu, Secretary (213). The committee chairmen were Porfirio Rios, Education; Pete Casarez, Liturgical; Joe Sanchez, Youth; Henry Guerrero, Parish Life; Sam Guerra, Finance (213). The first meeting was Tuesday at 8:00PM (223:08/31/69).
When the roster of Parish Council was printed in the August 31, 1969 Sunday Bulletin, it listed each member's home address. The members were: Rosie Cantu, Gene Casarez, Pete Casarez, Manuel Castillo, Frank Castruita, Celia Guerra, Sam Guerra, Henry Guerrero, Roger Ibarra, Tom Longoria, Albert Mercado, Roy Perales, Porfirio Rios, Raymond Rodriguez, Joe Rocha, Enrique Saenz, Fernando Sanchez, Joe Sanchez, Julian Segura, Albert Tamayo, Pete Tamayo, Joe Uriegas, Lupe Vasquez and Ben Vega (223:08/31/69).
The Council continued to meet at 8:00PM on Tuesday in the school library for their monthly meeting (223:11/16/69) (223:01/18/70) (233:02/15/70). In January 1970 the Council met in a called meeting to discuss preparations for the bazaar in May (223:01/25/70). In April 1970, the Parish Council meeting was moved to the Community Center so the public could attend (213) (223:04/19/70). In May, five council members were expelled for repeated absences and replaced by parishioners from the list of qualified applicants. Those dismissed were: Manuel Castillo, Roy Perales, Frank Mendez, Joe Rocha and Ben Vega. Those admitted were Valentino Luna, Pete Castillo, Gloria Cannon and Paul Samaniego (213).
3rd elected Council
In August 1970, Ff. Hailey wrote in the Sunday Bulletin that parish councils were begun by Vatican Council II and Pope John. He explained that the people have the right to have a voice and a vote about how to run the parish. He announced the upcoming elections for 6 new members of the parish council and explained that we wanted the parish council to do something about the $250,000 owed by the parish. "I am tired of worrying about the debt on the parish", he said (223:08/02/70). He told parishioners that, "It is your duty and obligation to elect members to the Parish Council and to give your ideas and opinions to them" (223:08/09/70).
Parish Council elections held at each mass on August 16, 1970 (213). The new Council met in school library 8:00PM that same day (223:08/16/70). The new parish council members were: Pete Casarez, Joe Sanchez, Porfirio Rios, Raymond Rodriguez, Pete Castillo, Roger Ibarra, Henry Guerrero, Tom Longoria, Joe Uriegas, Paul Samaniego, Albert Tamayo, Albert Mercado, Julian Segura, Vincent Ortiz, Fernando Sanchez, Joe Garcia, Manuel Navarro, Gene Casarez, Rosie Cantu, John Anguiano, Lorenzo Hernandez, Frank Castruita, Jerome Estrada and Pete Tamayo (223:08/23/70).
The Council requested and was given a report about activities at the Community Center. During the month of August, there were a total of twenty-one functions held at the San José Community Center. Five events paid rent and sixteen events were sponsored by the parish or parish sodalities and did not pay rent. The events that paid no rent were thirteen Bingos games, two dances (sponsored by the Socios and CYO) and one special event (the Guadalupanas made tamales) (213).
Roster of Parish Council on September 15, 1970 was
Porfirio Rios, Chairman; Fernando Sanchez, Vice-Chairman; Rosie Cantu, Secretary: Manuel Navarro, Parliamentarian.
Youth Committee: Chairman Pete Castillo, Joe Uriegas, Julian Segura, Joe Sanchez
Education Committee: Chairman Vincent Ortiz, Albert Tamayo, Joe Garcia, Paul Samaniego, Raymond Rodriguez
Liturgical Committee: Chairman Tom Longoria, Peter Casarez, Lorenzo Hernandez, Gene Casarez, Jerome Estrada
Finance & Planning: Chairman Manuel Navarro, Fernando Sanchez, Pete Tamayo, John Anguiano, Albert Mercado
Parish Life & Social: Chairman Henry Guerrero, Porfirio Rios, Rosie Cantu, Frank Castruita, Roger Ibarra (223:09/20/70).
The names of the members of the Parish Council were posted on the bulletin board in the back of the church. The council met monthly on a Tuesday at 8:00PM (223:10/18/70) (223:12/13/70) (223:03/14/71) and Committees were expected to meet on the week prior to the general meeting (223:11/08/70) (223:03/07/71). In November, Rev. Bob Gilmore, C.S.C., who was an Associate Pastor of San Jose and a member of the Citywide Committee for Human Rights, presented a plan to install a job counseling and placement program and a family service program at San José Church (223:12/06/70).
In December 1970, the Parish Council provided food, drinks, music and dancing for adults at the Parish Christmas Party in the Community Center. The children attended a party at the Youth Center while their parents were at the Christmas party (223:12/13/70).
At the January 1971 meeting, the Council elected the chairman and co-chairmen for the May 2 annual Church Bazaar (223:01/24/71) (223:01/31/71). The Council met again on Feb. 16 to finalize plans for the bazaar (223:02/14/71). At its March meeting, the Parish Council considered closing the school because of high operating costs. A summary in the Sunday Bulletin suggested that H.O.C. and Child Mental Development Center was interested in renting parts of the school building. An alternative was to seek financial support from the business community and individuals (223:03/21/71).
The Parish Council met as usual in April and May 1971 (223:04/18/71). The minutes of the May 18, 1971 meeting are the last minutes of a parish council meeting in the surviving minute book found in the church archives (213). According to the Sunday Bulletin, the Parish Council met on Tuesday, June 22, to make some very important decisions (223:06/13/71).
4th elected Council
The Sunday Bulletin announced Parish Council elections on August 22 (223: 08/08/71). Parishioners were give slips and asked to write-in five names. The highest vote getters were contacted during the week and the new members were announced in the August 29 bulletin (223: 22/08/71). As of September 5, 1971, the following named persons agreed to serve on the Parish Council: John Anguiano, Robert Bargas, Roger Ibarra, Glenn Rosendale, Sam Guerra, Frank Acosta, Raymond Samilpa Sr., Porfirio Rios, Fernando Sanchez, Peter Casarez, Julian Segura, Raymond Castro, Joe Garcia, Manuel Navarro, Vincent Ortiz and Virgil Almogabar (223: 05/09/71) (223: 12/09/71).
The names, addresses and phone numbers of Parish Council members were printed in the Sunday Bulletin. The officers for 1971-1972 were: Porfirio Rios, Chairman; Sam Guerra, Vice Chairman; Pete Casarez, Secretary. The chairs of committees were Glen Rosendale, Liturgical; Sam Guerra, Youth; Porfirio Rios, Education; Virgil Almogabar, Parish Life; Manuel Navarro, Finance (223: 29/09/71). The parish council met on the third Tuesday of each month at 8PM in the school (223: 10/10/71).
After October 1971, the Sunday Bulletin no longer mentioned the Parish Council. The Council did not cease functioning but it disappeared from sight. It still existed in 1976 but did not command the attention it once did. Father Larry Bauer, C.S.C., arrived at San Jose Parish in November 1975 (223:14/12/75). He met with the Parish Council only once in the four months between November 1975 and March 1976 (223:07/03/76). On March 22, 1976 he called for a meeting of the parish staff and "those who had been members of the parish Council in the past". The topic of discussion was the annual church bazaar (223:21/03/76). This is the last we hear of the Parish Council.
Pastoral Councils have their origin in the Vatican II Decree on Bishops. The 1983 Code of Canon Law provides for a bishop to establish a pastoral council on the diocesan level and a bishop can decide, in consultation with the presbyteral council, to establish a pastoral council in each parish. The Parish Priest must preside over the council meetings. The pastoral council possesses a consultative vote only and cannot materially constrain the parish priest in his direction of the parish (Wikipedia, Pastoral Council).
In January 1989, a group of parishioners were researching whether or not to form a Parish Council or Parish Advisory Board. A meeting will be called to decide whether or not to form a council and its composition (223:29/01/89).
In April 1989, Rev. Underwood explained the role of the parish council. It would be based on the New Code of Canon Law and the recommendations of Bishop Keating. He was preparing the guidelines before calling a parish meeting to review the guidelines, set a process for election and discuss subcommittees (223:16/04/89). "There is going to be a Pastoral Council information meeting at Our Lady of Guadalupe Church, 1209 E. 9th Street. See you there", he said (223:14/05/89). The next Sunday the pastor announced that a Pastoral Council had been formed and was meeting with Msgr. Furge next Monday (223:21/05/89).
At about the same time, Fr. Underwood announced the formation of a Finance Committee. The members of the Finance Committee were
Raymond Castro, IBM Technician
Max D. Cavazos, retired
Imelda Escobar, state attorney and cochair of the Finance Committee
Mike Moreno, Internal Auditor with the State Treasurer
Roy Reyna, Bus Manager at El Rancho Restaurant and cochair of the Committee
Rosie Tello, Date Entry Supervisor at Bridge Bank
Christie Zarria, ex-officio member (223:28/05/89)
The pastor explained the difference between a Parish Council and a Pastoral Council. The new Canon Law prohibits parish councils from involving themselves in administration, personnel, buildings, maintenance and finance. The new Pastoral Council was involved only in pastoral matters, usually ministries. A separate Finance Committee was formed to address other issues.
The pastor said the old Parish Councils created many problems and conflicts with the pastor and the staff and created divisions within the parish. In response, Canon Law was changed and Bishop John Keating wrote new guidelines. He invited all those interested in the Pastoral Council to attend a meeting on June 12 in the Old Church (223:11/06/1989).
As part of the process of installing a Pastoral Council, listening and sharing sessions were held for parish organizations in June 1989. The organizations were divided into ministries involved with the Liturgy (LEM, lectors, ushers, choirs, rosary prayer group); Social Justice (San Jose Inter-Faith, Socios, Guadalupanas, breakfast workers, Jamaica workers); Religious Formation (CCD teachers, RCIA sponsors) and Evangelization (Visitors to Shut-ins, Stephen Ministry, Prayer Group, Renewal Teams, Rosary Ministry). "Everyone's prayers and support are needed during this time." All meeting were in the old church on Monday or Tuesday, June 26 and 27 and July 10 and 11 (223:18/06/1989).
On July 16, the Sunday Bulletin announced that the following people were selected by their fellow ministers for the Pastoral Council. Liturgy: Mike Calderon, Rose Mary Martinez, Mike Mikan; Social Justice/Service: Luis Calderon, Rudy Duran, Maria Galvan; Christian Formation: Joseph Amezquita, Elida Haynes, Roxanna Rubio; Evangelization: Delia Anguiano, Carlos Coronado, Ruth Martinez (223:16/07/1989).
On very rare occasions, the parishioners received reports on the deliberations of the Pastoral Council. The Sunday Bulletin reported that the Pastoral Council met in February 1990 to discuss how to welcome visitors, whether or not to have a reception for new parishioners quarterly, the after-school tutoring program, an adult singles group, the summer classes on Catholic Faith and how and when to celebrate St. Joseph's Day (March 19 and May 1) (223:04/03/1990).
On July 2, 1990, the Pastoral Council minutes was printed in the Sunday Bulletin. The Council decided to welcome and recognize new parishioners after the announcements at each Mass and to hold a welcome reception for new parishioners quarterly. Father Fred discussed the new Pentecostal Conference, the prayer meetings and Spiritual Renewals. Meetings of the co-dependent groups were discussed. The Council decided to refrain from further involvement with Austin Inter-faith and announced that the tutoring classes would begin again in September (223:15/07/1990).
Names were submitted in December 2003 to fill vacancies on the Parish Council. The selection process was called discernment. Those discerned for the Council were Gloria Cruz, Romie Galica, Lucia Mendez and Andrew Moreno (223:30/11/2003). The Pastoral Council met on the first Wednesday of most months with the pastor. Their function was advise the pastor on issues affecting parish ministries. In August 2018, the council had four vacancies.
In May 1989, the pastor distributed a letter as an insert in the Sunday Bulletin from Bishop McCarthy. The Bishop urged San Jose to form a Finance Committee (223:21/05/89).
Pastors of San Jose Mission and Parish
Alfred J. Mendez, Alfred, C.S.C., August 15, 1939-Feb. 11, 1942 San Jose Mission; Feb. 11, 1942- April 6, 1947 San Jose Mission; April 6, 1947- Sept. 3, 1948 Pastor, San Jose Parish
Joseph Houser, C.S.C., Sept. 3, 1948-July 2, 1967
John Haley, C.S.C., July 1967-March 1975
Michael Mikan, C.S.C., March 1975-November 1975
Lawrence T. Bauer, C.S.C., November 1975-July 1976
John S. Korcsmar, C.S.C., July 1976-November 7, 1982
Underwood, Fred C.S.C., November 7, 1982-April 1993
Kirby D. Garner, Diocesan, April 1993-2002
Msgr. Tom Frank. Diocesan, 2002-July 2013
Alberto J. Borruel, Diocesan, 2013-July 2018
Jairo Sandoval-Pliego, Diocesan, July 2018-
Associate Pastors and visiting priests and seminarians
Joseph Houser, C.S.C., 1940
James W. Donahue, C.S.C., 1940 Associate Pastor
James A. Donnelly, C.S.C., 1940
Thomas J. Culhane, C.S.C., 1941-1945
Peter Mueller, C.S.C., 1943; Dec. 31, 1946-April 3, 1947 Associate Pastor of St. Ignatius assigned to San Jose; April 6, 1947 Associate Pastor
Joel C. Atwood, C.S.C., Sept. 6, 1947-1951 Assistant Pastor
James A. Donnelly, C.S.C., Jan. 2, 1947-April 6, 1947 Associate Pastor of St. Ignatius assigned to San Jose; April 6, 1947-1948 Associate Pastor
Elmer Vincent Rupp, C.S.C. 1948-1952 Rev. Rupp helped build the San José Rectory.
John Driscoll, C.S.C., 1948
Edwin Bauer, C.S.C., 1948
Frank Weber, C.S.C., 1948, Weber helped build the San José Rectory.
Brother Anthony J. Weber, C.S.C., 1948, Brother Weber helped build the San José Rectory.
Thomas Culhane, C.S.C., 1948, Rev. Culhane helped build the San José Rectory.
Driscoll, John, C.S.C., 1948
Charles A. Delaney, C.S.C., 1948
Bauer, Edwin, C.S.C., 1948
Brother Joseph Caine
John Driscoll, C.S.C., 1951-1953
Charles A. Delaney, C.S.C., 1952-1953
Frank Weber, C.S.C., 1958-1959
Brother Anthony J. Weber, C.S.C., 1958-1959
Thomas J. Culhane, C.S.C., 1959-1960
Vincent Delavey, C.S.C., 1960-1961
Harold J. Hughes, C.S.C., 1961-1962
Samuel J. Ciatto, C.S.C., September 1962- July 1965 Associate Pastor
Edward F. Abstetar, C.S.C., 1965-February 1966 Associate Pastor
Francis S. Bennett C.S.C., February 1966-April 1966 Associate Pastor
Lawrence Saha, C.S.C., June-July 1966
John Haley, C.S.C., April 1967-July 1967 Associate Pastor
Mike Mikan C.S.C., July 1967-March 1975 Associate Pastor
Brother Gregory, July 1967
Robert Gilmore, May 1969-September 1969
Ernest Sweeney, S.J., December 1969
Ray Canizales, C.S.C., a Holy Cross seminarian, December 1969
Robert Gilmore, C.S.C., December 1970-July 1971 in residence
Robert Villegas, C.S.C., 1972-1973
Frank Gillespie, S.J., August 1974
Bob Gilmore C.S.C., Departed March 1975 Associate Pastor
Miguel Simone, M.M. , August 1975-June 1976 Associate Pastor
Bill Loughran, seminarian, July 1975
Jeffrey Iacobazzi, seminarian, July-August 1976
Larry Bauer, C.S.C., July 1976 Associate Pastor
Peter Mueller, C.S.C., June 1981
Joseph F. Houser, C.S.C., August 1982-August 26, 1983
Francis R. Weber, C.S.C., August 1982- June 1983
Jack Keefe, July 1982
Eddie Reyes, Holy Cross candidate, December 1982-August 1983
Elmer Gross, C.S.C., August 1983-February 1985 Associate Pastor
Charlie Van Winkly, C.S.C., October 1984
Herman Reith, C.S.C., February-April 1985
Joseph Houser, C.S.C., April 1985, July 1985
Peter Logsdon, C.S.C., July 1985
George Menke, S.J., July 1985
Leonard Paul, C.S.C., August 1985-April 1987 Associate Pastor
Alfredo Vásquez, Deacon, May-June 1986
Ray Wilhelm, O.M.I., July-August 1986
Isidore Garcia, O.M.I., July-August 1986
Charlie Van Winkly, C.S.C., July-August 1986
Charlies Van Winkly, C.S.C., August 1986-July 3, 1988 Associate Pastor
John Phalen, C.S.C., June 1987
Jim Phalan, C.S.C. seminarian, June 1987
Jim Palmer, C.S.C. seminarian, June 1987
Leonard Paul C.S.C., January 1988-August 1988 Associate Pastor (part-time)
Herman Reith, C.S.C., February 1988
Frank Grogan, C.S.C., September 4, 1988-September 9, 1990 Associate Pastor
Leonard Paul, C.S.C., August 1988-June 1989 Associate Pastor
Christopher Scadron, December 1989-February 1990
Joe Berra, S.J., June 1990
Victor Goertz, June 1990
Joseph Devliegher, C.S.C., July 1, 1990-October 1992 Associate Pastor
Herman Reith, C.S.C., February-March 1991
Damien Hinojosa, Spring 1993-May 1993
Pascal Kabura, Spring 1993-May 1993
John Payne, C.S.C., November 1992-April 1993 Associate Pastor (part-time)
Le-Minh Joseph Pham, July 1993-1996 Associate Pastor
Roger Hall, 1996-1997
Dick Hudson, 1997
Jairo López, 1995-1996, 1997-1999
Joe McNeil, 1996-1997
Miguel Angel Paredes, 1998-1999, 2002-2003
Carlos G. Puerto, 1999-2000
George Joseph, 1999-2002
Ernesto Elizondo, 2000-2002
Miguel Angel Paredes, 2002-2003
Juan Carlos Lopez, November 2003-2006 Associate Pastor
Kevin Rai, 2002-2013 Associate Pastor
Melesio Peter Espinoza, 2005-2006, in residence
Miguel Duarte, 2006-2009
John G. Boiko, 2010-2016 Associate Pastor
Barry William Cuba, 2015
Priests and Deacons mentioned in the Death Register
When a baptized Catholic dies, the officiant is supposed to notify the parish where the person was baptized so the records can be brought up to date. Parish Death Registers can be used to identify priests who performed funerals of San Jose parishioners. The following list covers the period from 1939 to 2017 and includes priests from other parishes who provided information to San Jose. The dates after the names of the officiant are the first and last date recorded in the Registers if there are multiple dates in the Register.
A. Mendez, Aug. 23, 1939
A. Send, May 11, 1941
Thos Culhane, Feb. 15, 1942; June 23, 1945; Nov. 12, 1959; Feb. 19 1975
C. Fuuks, June, 1942
Pete F. Mueller, Oct. 1, 1945; April 7, 1948; April 28, 1991
J. A. Donnelly, Jan. 29, 1947; March 1, 1947
Joel C. Atwood, March 12, 1948; Aug. 14, 1949
Elmer V. Rupp, July 28, 1948; Feb. 7, 1960
Joseph Houser, March 13, 1949; April 24, 1967; Aug. 17 1982, April 12, 1983,
Nov. 8 1984; March 22, 1986
George Green, OMI, July 14, 1949
Diez OMI, June 7, 1951
Chas Delaney, April 21, 1952; April 17, 1954
Lawrence Bauer, May 30, 1955
A. Weber, Aug. 4, 1958; Aug. 2, 1982
Harold Hughes, March 22, 1961; March 19, 1962
H. Hooks, OMI, August 21, 1962
S. J. Ciatto, Sept. 15, 1962; July 5, 1965
Francis Bennett, July 23, 1966
John Haley, May 20, 1967; Dec. 31, 1974
Michael Mikan, June 24, 1967; Oct. 11, 1975
Bautista, Robert, June 26, 1968
Larry T. Bauer, Jan. 21, 1976; June 30, 1976
Michael A. Simone, Jan. 29, 1976
John S. Korsmar, June 8, 1976; July 17 1982; Sept. 22 1982
L. Peter Logsdon, May 23, 1979; Dec. 20 1980; Dec. 24, 1981
Richard Narvey, Dec. 1, 1980
Jerome Burnett OMI, Jan. 17, 1980
John T. Payne CSC, Aug. 22, 1981; March 5, 1982; Sept. 25, 1992; June 25, 1993
Frank Weber, Sept. 22, 1982; Oct. 18, 1982
George Joseph , Dec. 23, 1982
Fred Underwood, Jan. 14, 1983; Nov. 24, 1992
Charles Banks, June 2, 1983
Elmer Gross CSC, Sept. 24, 1983; Jan. 9 1985
Francis McFarland not CSC, May 27, 1985, July 22, 1986, June 8, 1988
Charles Van Winkle CSC, July 10, 1985; June 29, 1988
Leonard Paul CSC, Aug. 12, 1985; June 20, 1987; June 24 1989
Richard Teall, Jan. 9, 1987
Ray Wilhelm OMI, April 13, 1987; May 2, 1988
Francis Grogan CSC, Nov. 1, 1988; Aug. 6 1990
Joe Devliegher CSC, July 11, 1990; Sept. 11 1992
Deacon Enrique Saenz, Sept. 13, 1989; March 25, 1995
Elmer Holtman CSC, Nov. 25, 1990
Damien Hinojosa CSC, July 15, 1991; Nov. 21, 1991; Feb. 20 1999
Kirby D. Garner, May 7, 1993; Dec, 23 1996; Jan. 12 2002
Manuel Espinoza, July 22, 1993
Le Minh Joseph Pham , Aug. 14, 1993; July 13, 1995; April 22 1996
Deacon George Joseph Jr., Dec. 24, 1993; Nov. 13, 1996; Oct. 10, 2002
Deacon John Rivera, December 24, 1993; Nov. 2, 1996
Richard Tijerina, May 10, 1994; Dec. 7, 2017
B. Michael Wood, April 18, 1996
Joel D. McNeil, July 13, 1996; Sept. 17 1996
Rodger Hall, December 27, 1996; March 7, 1997; July 18, 1998
Richard Hudson, April 1, 1997; May 13, 1997
Jairo López, Nov. 25, 1997; Jan. 8 1999
Deacon Alfredo Vásquez, Dec. 26, 1997
Deacon Romeo Sanchez, Dec. 16, 1998; Sept. 7 2000; April 23, 2010
Miguel Angel Paredes, April 27, 1998; April 25, 2003
Frank Macias, May 16, 1998
Deacon Joe Gutierrez, June 6, 1998; Feb. 26, 2010
Carlos Puerto, March 9, 1999; Feb. 2, 2000
Ernesto Elizondo, July 24, 2000, Jan. 17. 2002
Deacon Alfredo Benavides, July 27, 2000; Dec. 20, 2006
Luis Moreno, March 14, 2002; May 20 2002
Tom Frank, July 10, 2002; Jan. 5, 2007; June 13, 2014
Kevin Rai, July 9, 2002; July 29, 2009
Juan Carlos López, July 23, 2003; June 4, 2006
Melesio Peter Espinoza, May 3, 2006; Dec. 6, 2006; Sept. 23, 2008
Miguel Duarte, Aug. 20, 2006; Sept. 30, 2009
Deacon Jesse Martinez, Oct. 14, 2006; Dec. 17, 2006; Sept. 9, 2014
John Boiko, Jan. 28, 2010; July 7, 2016
Barry Cuba, Dec. 30, 2014; July 8, 2016
Payden Blevins, Aug. 5, 2016; Feb. 3, 2017
Sean Dewitt, Aug. 3, 2016
Alberto J. Borruel, June 25, 2014; May 26, 2017
Greg Gerhart, July 25, 2017
Deacon Agapito López, March 18, 2017
Augustine Ariwaodo, Feb. 17, 2017; June 5, 2017
In 1960, San José Parish had about 400 registered families and was growing rapidly. The Church's sanctuary, which was built in 1955, had a seating capacity of 530 people. The church building still had adequate seating capacity for Sunday Mass. The parish had a school that was also growing rapidly. The school, which opened in 1956, added a grade level each year and, by 1960, the school employed five teachers and enrolled over 100 children.
The three largest parish organizations, la Sociedad del Sagrado Corazón de Jesús, la Society de Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe and las Hijas de María, all of which were organized when the church was founded in 1939, were attracting new members. Other groups, including the Catholic War Veterans (organized in 1956), the Men's Club and the Parent Teacher Association (both organized in 1959), further strengthened the parish community.
The parish community had become too large and its activities too varied to rely on word of mouth for communication between the pastor and the various organizations of the church. The pastor looked for a way to finance a newsletter or bulletin. However, the parish struggled financially and paper for a newsletter was expensive. The Parish Administrator asked that the parishioners contribute about $525 per week to pay for the expenses of the church. Only a few of the parishioners could afford to give more than one dollar a week and rarely did the Sunday Collection exceed $400 per week. However, the parishioners and the people of the surrounding neighborhood had a fondness for gaming and the profits from the 7:30PM Sunday Bingo game usually made up the difference between what the pastor needed to operate the parish and what the parishioners could afford to give.
The parish began publishing a regular weekly bulletin in December 1960. The parish had no money to pay for a bulletin but, fortunately, a sponsor came forward who agreed to pay the cost of the paper. While on a visit to Austin, Charles and Lois Villaseñor, who lived in Houston, were surprised to find that there was no funeral home catering to Austin's large and growing Mexican community. Mr. and Mrs. Villaseñor moved to Austin in 1959 and opened a modest funeral home on East First Street in East Austin. In December 1960, about a year after the Villaseñores opened the funeral home, Charles Villaseñor approached the Administrator of San José Parish, Rev. Joseph Houser, and offered to furnish the church with a supply of blank sheets that could be used for the Sunday Bulletin. Mr. Villaseñor stipulated only that the back page contain an advertisement for his business.
The pastor was clearly delighted to finally have a regular weekly bulletin. He saw the Hand of God in this. He wrote, "With this first Bulletin of San Jose Church, we greet you with the words that end today's Epistle. "Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing; that you may abound in hope, and in the power of the Holy Ghost" (223:04/12/1960). The first printed Sunday Bulletin in the archives of San José church dates from December 4, 1960.
The Bulletin was mimeographed on one side of an 8 ½ x 14 sheet of paper. The sheet was folded down the middle to produce four pages. The reverse side of the sheet was printed by a commercial firm and formed pages one and four of the bulletin. Page one featured the architect's rendering of second San José church building and the words, "Weekly Bulletin, San Jose Church, 2425 Oak Crest Street, Austin 4, Texas, Rev. Joseph Houser C.S.C., Rev. Harold Hughes, C.S.C." followed by the schedule of services. Page four was an advertisement for the funeral home that donated the paper. Page two and three contained Spanish and English versions of announcements written by the staff of the church office. The reverse side of the paper was printed while the inside pages were mimeographed in the church office.
To keep the cost as low as possible, the front of the bulletin featured a rendering of the second church drawn by the architect who designed the building. The drawing was not quite accurate and showed the church sitting on a flat surface. The drawing of the church entrance lacked the steps that led to it and the doors were glass rather than wood (223: 12/04/60). Otherwise, the drawing was an accurate rendering of the church as it existed in 1960. The drawing was used for the Sunday Bulletin probably because it existed and because the drawing was the property of the church. The pastor did not have to find an artist and pay a commission for an image to use on the Sunday bulletin.
Mission Funeral Home, 1612 East First Street, provided the pre-printed paper for the bulletins from 1961 until March 1965 (223:12/04/60). The funeral home ordered another supply of preprinted sheets from a printer whenever the supply of sheets ran out (223:01/20/63). This gave the pastor the opportunity to periodically revise the contact information on the front page to reflect changes in the church staff and the schedule of services. The advertisement on the back page rarely changed.
In January 1964, the front page of the Sunday Bulletin was redesigned to feature a different image of the second church. The image was a photograph of the entrance and the steps leading up to the church door. Mission Funeral Home continued to provide the paper (223: 01/05/64).
Every year the parish provided a religious calendar to each family registered in the parish. Angel Funeral Home, then located at 1700 East 2nd Street, provided the parish with calendars for 1962 and 1963. These calendars were mailed to each parishioner's home (223:01/12/64). The pastor commented on how "costly" the calendars were and how appreciative he was to Angel Funeral Home and Town and Country Stores for providing them. He may also have agreed to allow Angel Funeral Home to become the bulletin's sponsor because, the following spring, Angel Funeral Home replaced Mission Funeral Home as the sponsor of the Sunday Bulletin. Thereafter, until 1974, the two competing funeral homes took turns advertising in the Sunday Bulletin, sometimes switching from one to the other on an annual basis.
Perhaps due to the increased cost to print a photograph, after a year the image used on the front page of the bulletin reverted back to the original architects' line drawing of the church (223:03/07/65).
When Father Joseph Houser left San José Church in 1967, Mission Funeral Home was again providing the paper for the Sunday Bulletin. San José Church staff and volunteers compiled and typed the announcements that appeared on pages two and three of the four-page bulletin. The pastor frequently praised the small group, "who prepare our Sunday Bulletins". He explained that, "first it must be typed, then run off by machine. The workers are very faithful" (223:01/02/66). The work had to be done every week and in time for the Vigil Mass on Saturday afternoon.
From its beginning in 1960, the San José Sunday Bulletin was bilingual. Page two was the Spanish translation of the English text on page three. Usually the English and the Spanish translation were more or less exact translations of each other. Occasionally, especially when a long list of names was printed in the bulletin, half of the list would appear on the English side and the other half on the Spanish side. The pastor was careful to lists the names of children taking their First Communion and being confirmed.
The Sunday Bulletin of May14, 1967 was the last Sunday Bulletin to have parallel translations of Spanish and English. By then, it was not possible to contain all of the announcements to one page and the readers were advised to read both the English and Spanish versions because they were not identical. About one-half of the announcements were in Spanish and the other half were in English. It was clear that the vast majority of the parishioners were fluent in both English and Spanish.
In May 1967, the parish priests were Rev. Joseph Houser C.S.C. and Rev. Francis S. Bennett C.S.C. (223:05/14/67). April 1967 marked the beginning of an important transition for San José Church. Rev. Alfred Mendez founded the church in 1939 but it was Fr. Houser who nurtured and matured it. Fr. Houser was probably also the intellectual author of the Mexican Missions in southern Travis County. While teaching and living at St. Edward's University, Fr. Houser used a small chapel on the university grounds to provide religious instruction to Mexican children who could not make the five-mile journey to Guadalupe Church in East Austin (72). A photograph dated May 7, 1939, shows Houser with a group of children after their First Communion (216). The nineteen years he spent at San José was an extension of the work he began at St. Ed's. Throughout his tenure as the Administrator of San José, Fr. Houser made sure that all announcements appeared in both languages.
There are no existing Sunday Bulletins from the middle of May until the end of June 1967 in the San José Church archives. This coincided with change of parish priests from Fr. Joseph Houser and Fr. Francis Bennett to Rev. John Haley and Rev. Mike Mikan. When the Sunday Bulletin reappeared on July 2, it was printed on paper supplied by Angel Funeral Home but the usual image of the church was replaced with a photograph of Fr. Houser. It was a Special edition of the Bulletin that announced the Farewell Program for Rev. Joseph Houser (223:07/02/67).
The next regular Sunday Bulletin in the archives, dated July 9, 1967, had a new format. The Spanish language was no longer used and the interior of the bulletin (pages two and three) was one long page in English. The bulletins of July 9 and July 16 did not use the paper donated by Angle Funeral Home. Both were Special Bulletins with a slogan followed by the name of the church and the date. The slogan on July 9 was, "Problems are solved by moving ahead". The slogan on July 16 was, "I'm ready" (223:07/16/67).
On July 30, 1967 the Sunday Bulletin reverted to the pre-printed paper donated by Angel Funeral Home. The new priests, Rev. John Haley, C.S.C. and Rev. Mike Mikan, C.S.C. (223:07/30/67) worked together at San José Church from 1967 until 1975 (211). During their tenure, San José was no longer a Mexican church. Although its parishioners had Hispanic surnames and most spoke Spanish, the church was officially no longer a Spanish-language church. The Saturday Vigil Mass and the first Mass on Sunday morning were in Spanish but, when Fr. Houser returned to San José as Associate Pastor in June 1982, he found a parish that retained Spanish only for "cultural reasons".
Fr. Haley experimented with and made significant changes to the Sunday Bulletin during his tenure as parish administrator. From January until December 1970, the bulletins were purchased from the firm of Liguorian Sunday Bulletin in Liguori, Mo. The cost of the Liguorian bulletins proved to be too great and, in January 1971, the church returned to the pre-printed Sunday Bulletins used in 1967-1969. Angel Funeral Home provided the pre-printed sheets. The architect's drawing of the second church was the image used on these bulletins (223:07/03/71). In May 1972, the sponsor of the Sunday Bulletin changed from Angel Funeral Home, 1700 E. 2nd Street to Mission Funeral Home, 1615 East First Street (223:05/07/72) but, otherwise, nothing else about the bulletins changed.
In July 1973, Fr. Haley or Fr. Mikan launched another experiment. Between July 1973 and September 1974, the Sunday Bulletin was replaced by a new publication called the CCD Newsletter Volume One (248) and Volume Two (249). The first edition of the CCD Newsletter was dated July 22, 1973. The newsletter was clearly aimed at the youth of the church. Cartoon-like drawings based on characters in the Peanuts comic strip, but drawn by CCD staff, were common. Spanish was used but no attempt was made to provide parallel translations of English and Spanish announcements.
The staff of the CCD newsletter was Vye Carlile, editor; Nina Medrano and Janie Maldonado, artists; Miguel de los Santos, translator; and Ofelia de los Santos (249: 16/09/73), Carol Jo Vasquez and Debbie Sifuentes, typists (249: 23/09/73). The staff of the CCD Teen Samaritan, another newsletter, was Maria Buentello, Lupe Conde, Margaret Sendejas, John Cannon, Janie Maldonado, Rosie Martinez and Ester Moreno (249: 07/10/73). In October, the staff was listed as Vye Carlile, editor; Miguel de los Santos, Angelina Guerrero, Lupe Vela translators; Ofelia de Los Santos, Vye Carlile typists; Janie Maldonado, Nina Medrano, artists; Janie Maldonado, Rosie Martinez, teen representatives and Gloria Cannon, contributing editor (249: 28/10/73). In January 1974, the staff was Vye Carlile, editor; Chema Saenz, translator; and Vye Carlile, typist (249: 27/01/74). In April 1974, the staff was Vye Carlile, Miguel De Los Santos (translator) and Vye Carlile (typist) (249:21/04/74). The staff of the newsletter met every Tuesday at 6:00PM to create the newsletter (249:13/01/75). The Pastor estimated that over 800 people read the newsletter weekly. It was bilingual in an informal way and usually consisted of three or four pages (249:17/03/74).
The April 21, 1974 issue of the Samaritan was the last bilingual issue (249:21/04/74). The name also changed to San Jose News. The staff was Maria Soliz, Silvia Loya, Teri Vera and Robert Michalewiez (250: 27/10/74). A group of young people called the Samaritan Club met on Wednesdays at 5:30PM at the school to publish the newsletter under the direction of Mrs. Vye Carlile. In May, Robert Mikowitz and Ninfa Nunez joined the group (249: 05/05/74). In May 1974 the staff consisted of Vye Carlile, editor; Carmen Cortez, social editor; Robert Mikowitz, business and club editor; Rosie Martinez, youth editor; Dodie Rodriguez, senior citizen editor and Deb Morrison, neighborhood center reporter (249: 12/05/74).
In June 1974, other changes were made. San José CCD now produced The Samaritan newsletter. The staff was associated with South Austin Neighborhood Center in some way. At that time, the South Austin Neighborhood Center was housed in the San José Community Center and the same group of young people who managed the neighborhood center published the San José newsletter. The newspaper staff managed the Summer Tutoring Program, Senior Youth Activities and a clothing and food bank and sponsored an Open House Festival Bazaar on July 7 (249:23/06/74). In August, funds from the Neighborhood Youth Corps must have run out and the group disbanded at the beginning of the school year. August 5, 1974, was the last issue of the Samaritan. Both of its editors (Miss Vela and Mrs. Vye Carlile) returned to their jobs as teachers.
The Sunday Bulletins reappeared as the San José News on September 15, 1974 (250) and as the Weekly Bulletin on January 5, 1975. For the next two years, the Sunday Bulletin consisted of an 8 ½ x 14 sheet mimeographed on both sides. The bulletin carried no advertising and no image other than a simple letter head with church name, Mass schedule and the names of the parish priests. Beginning in July 1976, the bulletin was mimeographed on a preprinted sheet purchased from Liguori Publications. There was no advertising.
Beginning in January 1979, the supply of preprinted sheets was purchased from J. S. Paluch Company in Chicago. J. S. Paluch is a Catholic company that specializes in church bulletins. In April 1979, J. S. Paluch Company opened an office in Humble, Texas and began to sell advertising to local businesses located in South Austin. The San José bulletin was a single 11x14 inch sheet printed on both sides. Page four of the bulletin was divided into 36 small rectangles, each of which contained an advertisement for a local business. The publisher managed and sold the advertisements. This change was made when Rev. John S. Korcsmar, C.S.C. was the pastor.
This became the format used for the San José Sunday bulletin for the next forty years. Beginning in 1981, the Bulletin was printed by Trinity Publications in Austin but J. S. Paluch continued to manage the advertising. Occasionally, the image on the front page, the size of the paper or the publisher changed but the format has remained the same.
Beginning in 1983, Spanish language announcements began appearing in the Sunday Bulletin again. Often, the Spanish announcements were printed on a separate sheet and inserted into the bulletin. When this was done, the words, "Traducido al Espanol en hoja anexa al bulletin", appeared somewhere in the English version.
According to Rev. John Korcsmar, who served as Pastor from 1976 until 1982, it was originally thought that San José would not long remain a Spanish-speaking parish. In 1976, he said that, "The people in this community are very fluent in both Spanish and English. They nearly all work very well in either language." (108) He could not have foreseen the large number of Mexican immigrants that arrived at San José in the 1980s. In response to those new parishioners, who often do not speak English, the San José Sunday Bulletin continues to be a bilingual publication with parallel translations of almost every announcement.
In December 1985, an image of the Risen Lord was used for the first time on the front page of the Sunday Bulletin. The image was shown hovering over a drawing of the second San Jose Church. The drawing was modeled after the crucifix that hangs above the altar of the main Church. At that time, the pastor was Rev. Fred Underwood. He also placed the insignia of his order, the Holy Cross Fathers, to the left of the image of the Risen Lord. After a few months, the Holy Cross insignia disappeared but the image of the Risen Lord is used on the cover of the San Jose Sunday Bulletin until 2017.
Summary of publishing methods
The Sunday Bulletin of San José Parish has remained largely unchanged over the past sixty years. Below is a brief summary of methods used to produce the bulletin and the changes to its appearance with each new parish administrator.
1960, Dec. 4 - 1961, Dec. 31 8 ½ x 14, preprinted by Mission Funeral Home, architects rendering of second church on a level surface with the words, "Weekly Bulletin, San Jose Church, 2425 Oak Crest Street, Austin 4, Texas, Rev. Joseph Houser C.S.C., Rev. Harold Hughes, C.S.C. followed by the schedule of services on the front page
1962, Jan. 7 - 1962, Dec. 23
1962, Dec. 30 - 1963, Dec. 29 Same as 1964, photo on front cover of church entrance used sometimes, architects rendering used sometimes, paper supplied by Mission Funeral Home
1964, Jan. 5 - 1964, Aug. 23 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse by Mission Funeral Home, front has a photograph of the entrance of the church and the steps leading up to the door, inside mimeographed with Spanish on page two and English on page three
1964, February 9 8 ½ x 11 special bulletin for Scout Week, the multicolored printed front is stamped with, "E. L. Saenz & Troop 94", mimeographed inside is Spanish and English
1964, Sept, 6 - 1964, Dec. 27 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse by Mission Funeral Home, front has inside mimeographed with Spanish on page two and English on page three, drawing of architects rendering of second church on level ground with glass doors
1965, Jan. 3 - 1965, Dec. 26 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse by Mission Funeral Home until April 25, then by Angel Funeral Home, inside mimeographed with Spanish on page two and English on page three, drawing of architects rendering of second church on level ground, pastor Joseph Houser with Rev. S. J. Ciatto until October 10 then Edward F. Abstetar
1966, Jan. 1 - 1966, Dec. 4 8 ½ x 14 preprinted reverse by Angel Funeral Home, inside mimeographed with Spanish on page two and English on page three, drawing of architects rendering of second church on level ground, pastor Joseph Houser and Rev. Edward F. Abstetar until March 6, then Joseph Houser and Rev. Francis S. Bennett
1967, Jan. 22- 1967, May 14 Same as 1968-1971 bulletin, Angel Funeral Home is the advertiser, pastor Joseph Houser
1967, July 2 was a special bulletin for Father Houser's Farewell
1967, July 9 - 1967, July 16 Special bulletins, "Problems are solved by moving ahead", "I'm Ready", Angel Funeral Home is the advertiser
1967, July 30 - 1968, Jan. 14 1969-1971 bulletin, pastor John Haley and Mike Mikan from July 23, 1976
1968, Jan. 21 - 1969, Jan. 12 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse by Angel Funeral Home, identical to 1969-1971 bulletins, pastor John Haley
1969, Feb. 2 - 1969, Dec. 28 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse by Angel Funeral Home, identical to 1970-1971 bulletins, pastor John Haley
1970, Jan. 4 - 1970, Dec. 27 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse by Liguorian Sunday Bulletin, Mo., no advertising, no customized front or back, inside mimeographed in one continuous page top to bottom, letter head does not name priests, pastor John Haley
1971, Jan. 3 - 1971, Dec. 25 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse side, advertising by Angel Funeral Home, mimeographed inside, Weekly Bulletin, front has a drawing of the second church on level ground, page 2 and 3 are all English and read from top of page two to bottom of page three as one continuous sheet, pastor John Haley
1972, January 1 - 1972, April 2 8 ½ x 14 preprinted on reverse side, advertising by Angel Funeral Home, mimeographed inside, front has drawing of second church on level ground, pastor John Haley
1972, April 23 - 1972, Dec. 31 Same as above but advertising by Mission Funeral Home, pastor John Hailey
1974, September 8 ½ x 14 printed on reverse with advertising for Mission Funeral Home, front page showing drawing on church on level ground, mimeographed on inside, pastor John Haley
1974, October - 1974, Dec. 22 San Jose News, 8 ½ x 11 paper, mimeographed on both sides, no advertising, letter head does not list priests, not folded, pastor John Haley
1974, Dec. 29 - 1975, January 12 Weekly Bulletin, folded, used only for Holy Family, Epiphany, Baptism of the Lord and Third Sunday of the Year, mimeographed but with professionally done drawing on front page, usually the art work was very primitive, pastor John Haley
1975, January 19 - 1975, May 4 Weekly Bulletin mimeographed on 8 ½ x 14 paper, sometimes folded and sometimes not folded, each bulletin was different, no advertising
1975, January 5 - 1975, March 16 the pastor was John Haley
1975, March 23 - 1975, August 17 the pastor was Mike Mikan
1975, August 24 - 1975, Dec. 28 San Jose News, 8 ½ x 14 mimeographed on both sides, letter head with name and names of priests, Pastor Mike Mikan, Fr. Miguel Simone
1976, January 11 - 1976, June 27 San Jose News, 8 ½ x 14 mimeographed on both sides, letter head with name, address, Mass schedule and names of priests, Pastor Lawrence Bauer
1976, July 4 Same as above, pastor John Korscmar
1976, July 11 - 1976, August 1 8 ½ x 14 preprinted sheet by Liguori Publications, no advertising, announcements on page 2, 3 and 4, front not customized, Pastor John Korcsmar
1978, Sept. 10 - 1978, Dec. 27 8 ½ x 14 sheet printed on reverse by Lguori Publications, Missouri, mimeographed inside, no advertising, front page not customized, pastor John Korcsmar
1979, January 1 - 1979, March 8 ½ x14 printed on reverse by J. S. Paluch Company, Chicago, mimeographed inside, no advertising, front page not customized, pastor John S. Korcsmar
1979, April 1 - 11x14 printed on both sides by J. S. Paluch Co, Humble, TX, advertising on page four, 36 small rectangles with advertising by local businesses, front lower ¼ page has church name, address and contact information, pastor John S. Korcsmar
1981, June 7 - 1984, April 29 Printed on 11"x15" paper by Trinity Publications
1981, June 7 - 1983, March 20 Drawing of second church on level ground, no bell tower, Pastor John Korcsmar
1983, March 27 - 1984, April 29 Drawing of second church on level ground, no bell tower, Saint Joseph with mallet and chisel standing over and behind the church, Pastor Fred Underwood
1984, May 6 - 1987, Dec. 27 Printed on 11"x17"paper by Trinity Publications,
1984, May 6 - 1984, August 4 Drawing of second church on level ground, no bell tower, Saint Joseph with mallet and chisel standing over and behind the church, Pastor Fred Underwood
1984, August 12 - 1985, March 31 Three photographs stacked on each other, top photo: second church; middle photo: Father Elmer Gross at the altar, Risen Jesus behind the altar; lower photo: Father Underwood with children, Saint Joseph and Child in background, another image in background. The March 31 issue contained the obituary of Father Elmer Gross. Pastor Fred Underwood
1985, April 7- 1985, Dec. 15 Drawing of second church with canopy and bell tower, Pastor Fred Underwood
1985, Dec. 22 - 1987, Dec. 27 The Risen Lord (modeled after Altar piece) is hovering over a drawing of the second church. Holy Cross insignia is to the left of church, Pastor Fred Underwood
The following bulletins are missing from the archives of San Jose Parish.
June 5, June 19 or July 3, 1966
1967, May 14- 1967, July 9
June and April 1969
1976, August-1978, September
1979, May-1982, May
1981, January- 1981, June
Use of Spanish
In March 1970, the bulletin announced that, "We have purchased special bulletins in Spanish for the first two masses each Sunday (6:30AM and 8:00AM) with all the proper prayers of each Sunday. This will be a great aid to our people..." (223:03/29/70). Similar bulletins were produced for the English-speaking Mass. Beginning on Easter Sunday and continuing until the 26th Sunday after Pentecost (November 15, 1970) the reverse side of the Sunday Bulletin contained all the words of the Mass from the Entrance Song to the Dismissal (223:03/29/70) (223:11/15/70). The Sunday Bulletin of July 18, 1971 also contained the words for the entrance, offertory, communion and final songs (223:07/18/71).
For the first time in many months, parallel translations into Spanish appeared in the Sunday Bulletin in May 1983. The material seemed to be directed at Spanish-speaking men who were encouraged to join the Socios (223:08/05/83). Thereafter a Spanish insert was placed inside the printed bulletin. The insert was the Spanish language translation of selected items from the bulletin. Stella Trejo and Enrique Saenz did much of the translation (223:05/06/83).
The Spanish translation began appearing in the body of the Sunday Bulletin instead in an insert in June 1983 (223:26/06/83) but, by October 1982, the four-page Sunday Bulletin could not contain both the English and Spanish language versions of the announcements. A two-sided insert was used along with the words, "Traducido al Espanol en hoja annexa al bulletin", in the body of the English-language bulletin (223:09/09/83) (223:18/03/84).
When space allowed, Rev. Underwood included a Spanish translation of "From the Pastor's Corner" in the Sunday Bulletin. If not, then, "Traducido al Espanol en Hoja Anexa" (223: 27/04/1986). After March 1986 almost every Sunday Bulletin had both English and Spanish versions of the Pastor's comments, in a section labeled, "Del Escritorio Del Padre" or "From the Pastor's Desk" (223:30/03/1986). The Spanish version sometimes appeared in a separate sheet, **Traducido al Espanol en Hoja Anexa**. After Fr. Kirby became the administrator, Spanish reappeared in the Sunday Bulletin (223:17/10/1993).
Beginning November 21, 1982, the Sunday Bulletins was distributed after Mass instead of before Mass in an effort to encourage people to read it (223:21/11/82). At that time, Mrs. Nelda Martinez typed the bulletin. In December she was replaced by Margaret Garza who was a PHD candidate at UT. In 1982 Trinity Publications of Austin handled the advertising and printing of the Sunday Bulletin (223:26/12/82).
Average Sunday Collection
Budgets and goals
Other sources of income
Pledges and fundraising campaigns
Diocesan Expansion Fund
Catholic Sharing Appeal
Average Sunday Collection
In 1961, at a time when the pastor estimated San José Parish needed about $530 a week to operate, the income from the Sunday Collection was $386 and the income from bingo games run by the Socios was $198. The bingo profits did not count as parish income but was always used to pay expenses of the parish (223:07/09/61). The number of families registered with the Parish increased by about 7% per year and the pastor rightly expected the Sunday Collections to grow by at least that much. Nevertheless, in November 1963, the pastor complained that the last Sunday's collection was $361, the lowest in three years (223:11/24/63).
All 693 registered families received envelopes in 1965 but only about 1/3 used them. The pastor noted that the families that used the envelopes contributed most of the income received by the parish. The use of preprinted collection envelopes seemed to increase how much a family contributed to the church. Someone suggested that maybe collections would increase if the collection basket were passed from one parishioner to another. In December 1967, when the Sunday Collection averaged around $400 per week, the Parish Council voted to remove the handles from the collection baskets so the baskets could be passed from person to person. This was a trial to see if collections increased (213). The wire basket was replaced with a cloth-lined wicker basket. In 2015, Rev. Borriel had the cherished baskets replaced. He then threw the wicker baskets away and reverted to using wire baskets held by the ushers. Eventually, after this change, the Sunday Collection declined.
In 1966, the pastor tried to increase the Sunday Collection by being more transparent about parish finances. In October and November 1966, the Sunday Bulletin listed all expenses for one month (September) and some for November (223:11/06/66). Other expenses were listed in the December 4 (223:12/04/66), January 22 (223:01/22/67) and February 5, 1967 Sunday Bulletins (223:02/05/67). This seemed to work and during 1967 the Sunday Collection increased to $24,676.51, an average of $474 per week (223:01/21/68).
By January 1968, the Sunday Collection had increased to an average of $535 per week (223:02/11/68) and, in March and April, the average Sunday Collection was $585 (223:04/07/68) (223:05/19/68). However, in the fall, the Sunday Collection declined to an average of $512 in September and $491 in November (223:10/20/68) (223:12/01/68). The increase in the Sunday Collection was largely due to the growth of the parish community. The number of families registered in the parish had increased to over 700 families by July 1967 (223:30/07/67).
In February and March 1969, sixteen volunteer workers visited the 700 families of the parish for a Parish Fundraising Campaign. The volunteers received promises worth $1,400 per Sunday. At the time, the average Sunday collection was about $496. Sunday collections increased from an average of $600 in January to $700 in February and $900 in March (223:03/16/69). The average Sunday collection in April was $926 (213). Collections peaked at Easter at $1,000 then dropped to between $600 and $900. In June and July, the Sunday Collection averaged $705 (213). A special collection for the school also increased to an average of $42 per week (223:07/13/69).
The pastor had expected the Sunday Collection to decline over time after the fundraising drive was over and he sent letters to those parishioners who made a pledge but then fell behind (223:04/27/69). Sunday Collection did increase and ranged from $706 to $869 during the month of August (223:09/07/69) which was, as the pastor said, "a notable improvement" over the previous amount (213).
In early January 1970, the total Sunday collection for 1969 was reported as $37,172.61 (223:01/04/70) before being revised upward to $39,034.56 (an average of $750 per week) (223:03/01/70). In the summer of 1970, the Sunday Collection was less than $600 on average. The pastor expected the Sunday Collection to decline during the summer and he said, "Thank God we do not have to pay the school teacher's salaries during the summer months. We could not do it". He did have to pay the semi-annual payment of $13,156.25 on the debt for the school and the hall that was due on July 1 (223:07/05/70). Fortunately, the three Bingo nights were the parish's biggest source of income (213) and the profits from the Bingos paid the school debt (213).
During 1970, the total from Sunday collections was $31,654.84. This was sufficient only because the income from the Socios Bingos was used to pay the interest and principal on the school and the new hall ($13,992.50 (223:01/03/71). Sunday Collections in 1971 totaled $28,531.77 (223: 06/02/72) and, during 1972, total Sunday and Feast day collections was $31,496.20 (an average of $605 per week) (223: 07/01/73). In 1974, the average Sunday Collection was $700 per week (249: 11/11/73) (223:16/03/75).
When Rev. Fred Underwood became pastor of San José Parish in November 1982, the Sunday Collection was between $1,700 and $2,100 per week (223:21/11/82) (223:16/01/83). Fr. Underwood planned to expand the church to accommodate an overflowing congregation without borrowing the money. He appealed to the congregation and in March 1983, he announced a new record Sunday Collection of $2,562.57 (223:06/03/83).
In July, Father Underwood learned that the Bishop would not allow San José Parish to borrow money for any purpose until the school and hall debt was paid down. Undeterred, the pastor made a special appeal for donations to help pay for the renovations to the church. As a result, Sunday Collection increased from about $2,200 per week to $3,200 for the next four weeks (223:07/08/83) (223:14/08/83). In December 1983, the Sunday Collection had increased to around $3,400 per week (223: 25/12/1983). During 1983, Sunday Collections was $149,537 out of a total parish income of $222,765 (223:12/02/84). In 1984, the average Sunday Collection was $4,554 (223:03/02/1985).
During 1988, the Sunday Collection ranged from $7,990 to $13,135 (223). On the Sunday the new Church was dedicated, May 1, the Sunday Collection was $15,640.53 (223: 08/05/1988). The Sunday Collection for Saturday and Sunday, April 30 and May 1, was the largest in the history of the parish (223:08/05/1988) and was not exceeded for 25 years.
In August 1990, the pastor once again urged each parishioner to donate at least $5 per week. He said collections were, "still way below the $13,000 weekly average needed to begin paying on the principal on our short-term building load" (223:12/08/1990). To illustrate his point, he inserted a financial report for month of January showing income from the Sunday Collection in January was $50,776.23 and fundraising income was $5,835.48 for total income of $56,611.71. Expenses were $61,977.37 for a shortfall of $5,365.66 (223:03/03/1991).
Budget and goals
The Sunday Bulletin for October 9, 1966, listed the total expenses for September 1966. Sunday collections for the month were $1,681 and monthly expenses were $946.98. The only labor expense was $200 salary for two priests and $92 for cleaning of grounds and buildings (223:10/09/66).
In April 1978, the pastor, Rev. John S. Korcsmar, stated in the Sunday Bulletin that $1,900 was needed each week and that last Sunday's collection was $1,518.67. This was $381.33 short of the goal (223: 04/09/78). Beginning in September, the Sunday bulletin listed "Amount needed each week" and "Last Sunday's Collection" and "Amount Short of Goal" (223:10/09/76). The amount collected was always less than the amount needed (223:08/10/78).
During the last half of 1981, the weekly goal was $1,700 for the Sunday Collection. The actual collection was sometimes above and sometimes below the goal. The numbers were printed in the Sunday Bulletin (223:21/06/1981) (223:01/11/1981) (223:25/07/82).
A new goal was set at $1,950 in August 1982 (223:22/08/82). When Fr. Underwood became pastor in November 1982, he advised the parish there was not enough income from collections to pay the principal and interest on the three outstanding notes for the school, the renovation of the church and the community center (223:21/11/82). During his term as pastor, he increased the budgetary goal many times as he unveiled an extensive building program. Remarkable, he was always able to meet his goal. In March 1983, he announced a new record Sunday Collection of $2,562.57 in addition to $174.35 income from the breakfast group (223:06/03/83).
During 1983, Sunday Collections was $149,537 (223:12/02/84). In January 1984, the pastor reported $3,346 from the Sunday Collection and $280 from Breakfast (223:22/01/84). In late 1985, the Sunday Collection ranged from $6,000 to $8,000 (223: 17/11/1985).
By February 1987, the pastor said, "$9,000 minimum weekly is needed to make annual payment on the new church." Later the figure was revised to $9,500 to include the Cathedraticum (8% of total Parish income sent to Chancery Office for Diocesan Operation) (223:22/02/1987).
In October 1987, Underwood said, "...we are in a real financial crisis because the Sunday Collections have dropped (especially during the summer). We will have to borrow $40,000 to make our first semi-annual payment of $92,500.00. Since we will have to repay the $40,000 in addition to the $92,500 due each six months, our Sunday Collections will have to average $10,300 per Sunday. This sounds like a lot but if all the parishioners of San José Parish will do their part, we can easily go over this amount". On the day this notice appeared the Sunday Collection was $7,932.89 (223: 04/10/1987).
From the beginning of the year until April 17, the pastor placed a box on the third page of the Sunday Bulletin tracking the amount of money in the building fund. By April 15, the parish had saved $90,000 of the $92,500 needed to make the April 15, 1988, payment on the church note 223:17/04/1988).
By October 1988, the new goal for the Sunday Collection was $12,000 223:23/10/1988). This included money to pay down the principal of an interim loan of $40,000 (223: 24/04/1988). The pastor was confident that if each full-time wage earner donated one hour's pay each week, "we would have no problem meeting our debt service" (223:07/08/1988). In March 1991, the Sunday Collection goal was $16,000 (223:07/04/1991).
Beginning in August 1991, the Bulletin had a box called Weekly Financial Report. Inside the box were the words, "Collection needed to meet budget $14,000.00". The box listed the total collection for the last week, the "collection under this week" and the "collection under since (some date)" (223:20/10/1991) (223:29/12/1991). In November 1992, the collection finally exceeded the amount needed and the words in the box changed to "Collection over this week" (223:01/11/1992). Underwood left the parish in April 1993 and Rev. Kirby Garner became pastor. In September 1993, the old wording ("collection under this week" returned. From then until the end of 1993, the collection was always under budget (223:10/10/1993).
In February 1956, San Jose Parish borrowed $101,000 to build the second church (223:10/10/65). Six years later, at the end of 1962, the parish's debt was $45,000 (223:11/11/62). Over the next nine months, the church paid $11,000 and the debt decreased to $31,000. The pastor wanted to build a school but he said, "We are not ready to build until we can pay $12,000 in 6 months (223:09/29/63). In December 1964, he wrote, "The parish now owes $14,000. We hope for a new school. Let us first work to erase the present debt" (223:12/27/64).
In October 1965 the parish debt was $7,000 (223:10/10/65) and, in December, $4,000. Rev. Houser complained that only, "About a third of the Faithful support San José" (223:12/26/65) but the parish had nearly paid off the debt on the church. With the debt on the church paid, the parish contracted to build a new school to replace the portables that had been in use since 1957. The new school cost $143,638.36 (223:10/09/66).
The church debt was $147,000 in February 1967. In 1966, San Jose was also asked, for the first time, to pay a Cathedraticum of 3% of parish income (223:02/05/67). In 1968, the Parish Council voted to build the San Jose Community Center to replace a surplus barrack that was being used as the parish hall. The Community Center cost $150,000. The hope is that the income from the Bingo games on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday and from rentals would pay for the costs (223:10/26/69).
Every six months, the parish had to make a payment of $13,156.25 on the combined debt for the school and the hall (223:10/26/69) (223:07/05/70) (223:01/05/83). In 1983, the parish paid $21,000 on the principal and $12,000 of interest on the notes (223:12/02/84). The final payment on the school debt would be on July 1, 1986 and the final payment on the school debt on the Community Center would be on July 1, 1989 (223:08/07/84).
In March 1987, the parish signed a 20-year note for $1,700,000 to pay for the third San José Church building. The pastor calculated that the church needed to set aside $3,200 per week after operating expenses to pay for the new church (223:15/03/1987). In October, he was forced to borrow $40,000 to make the first semi-annual payment of $92,500.00 (223:04/10/1987).
Indebtedness as of January 31, 1991 was bonds $1,384,235.29, short term loans $555,997.76 and Cathedraticum owed $12,740.06 for a total debt of $1,952,973.11 (223:03/03/1991) (223:28/04/1991).
In December 1963, the Sunday Bulletin announced that boxes of Sunday Offering envelopes for persons with names beginning with letters A-H had been placed at the entrance of the church to be picked up (223:12/08/63). Each registered family received a box of envelopes but only 220 of the 600 families returned their envelopes. The pastor thought that another 30 families were contributing without using the envelopes. In August 1964, he said that of the $325 received on a particular Sunday, $225 was in the form of $1 bills (223:08/16/64) (223:09/06/64).
In October 1964, he said, "The Socios approved a plan to send envelopes monthly to each family. As usual the children's envelopes begin on November 1. Those who wish envelopes for their children please advise us" (223:10/04/64). He said that, "Within two weeks, you will receive leaflets in the mail. The leaflets will say just a little about God's help to you. Then the leaflet will ask about your help to God, not that He needs it, but you need it to be blessed for your sacrifices made for love of God. This will continue for siz weeks. Then you will receive offering envelopes in the mail, beginning with the New Year" (223:11/08/64).
In November, he explained, "For the next 6-weeks you will receive leaflets in the mail explaining God's Plan. We will also speak of it from the Altar. In God's Plan, all help, a few are not overworked, and God will bless each family and San Jose (223:11/15/64).
Any family that donated $10 or more during 1964 got a letter from the church with the amount (for income tax purposes). Out of a list of 214 names, 163 received letters (meaning they donated more than $10 in the previous year) (223:01/24/65).
In January 1965, 675 families received envelopes. In June 1965, 693 families were registered and receiving envelopes. On average, one-third of families returned the envelopes (223:06/06/65). On this basis, Rev. Houser said, "About a third of the Faithful support San José. The rest see no reason to give anything to God" (223:12/26/65). The envelopes were mailed each month and were dated and stamped with a number assigned to that family (223:01/10/65).
Seven hundred and ten families were registered in the parish and receiving envelopes in July 1967. On June 25, 184 envelopes were returned in the collection basket. On that day, the Sunday collection totaled $393.39 (223:07/09/67). Half of the envelopes (100 of 208) contained one dollar. Another 95 contained two dollars or more (223:07/30/67).
The pastor kept records of and reported on the number of envelopes returned. In August 1967, 88 of 120 envelopes contained $1 or more and 19 others gave $5 or more (223:08/13/67). The next spring, he noted that 7 of the 212 families who used envelopes donated $10 or more and 15 of the 212 donated $5 or more. Twenty-two of the 212 donated less than $1. The 212 families that returned their envelopes accounted for less than one-third of the 669 registered families and accounted for almost all of the Sunday Collection (223:04/07/68).
Each month during 1969 collection envelopes were sent to each household. In January 1969, the parish reported 722 registered families. Of those, 481 used envelopes at least once during 1968. 241 families never turned in an envelope. 565 families contributed less than $50 during 1968 and 69 families contributed over $100 during the year. Three families contributed at least $205 during the year. Average weekly collection was $497.20 (223:01/05/69).
The Parish Council tried to gauge support for the parish school by asking for a second collection to support the school. Of the 700 envelopes sent to parishioners in June 1968, only 50 were returned (223:06/02/68). The lack of support for the parish school among parishioners surely made the decision to close the school easier.
All registered parishioners receive orange and white envelopes every month in the mail during 1982 (223:15/08/82). The church office took over the task of mailing the envelopes for the Sunday collection in June 1983 (223:03/07/83). The Socios had been doing that work since 1964. Parishioners were reminded to use their envelopes or write their envelope number on loose checks (223:06/02/83). The pastor said that it is important that people use the collection envelopes as proof of their attendance at San José. This is important when they ask for letters of recommendation (223:22/01/84).
Contribution letters for 1985 were mailed out with the February 1986 envelopes (223: 26/01/1986). Some of the totals were not correct and corrected statements were mailed during the second week of February (223: 09/02/1986). The pastor enlisted the following people to help with the monthly mail out of collection envelopes and sorting the Sunday Collection envelopes in 1987: Stella Trejo, Lillie Hernandez, Felipa Ramirez, Jeanette Zendejas, Andrea Rodriguez, Ruby Koa and Mercy Lara (223: 06/12/1987).
The pastor thanked "the ladies who have been working on the monthly mail outs and counting the weekly collections" (223:11/09/1988). Sylvia Mendieta, Lupe Jiménez and Robert Jiménez volunteered to mail the monthly envelopes every month during 1990 (223:30/09/1990) and, in January 1991, Greg Trejo, Stella Trejo, Max Cavazos, Connie Cavazos and José Jiménez helped with the monthly mailing of the Sunday Collection envelopes (223: 27/01/1991).
In October, Fr. Kirby said that the church office mailed out the contribution envelopes and was often late. He promised to send the November and December envelopes together so the would arrive before the first weekend in November. He said that a company who specializes in envelope distribution would begin mailing the envelopes beginning January 1994 (223:24/10/1993).
Other Sources of income
During a fundraising drive in 1963, San José parishioners pledged $708 but the Sunday Collection was actually around $419 a week. Rev. Houser urged the parishioners to support the party games if they do not support the Sunday Collection (223:05/19/63).
In 1967, when the Sunday Collection for the year totaled $24,676.51, the church raised $6,802.41 at its bazaars and fiestas and $1,251.00 by selling candles and other items (223:01/21/68). The income from these ancillary enterprises accounted for 25% of the church's annual income. In 1969, fiestas and candles accounted for 12% of parish income but three parish sodalities (Parent Teacher Association, Socios and Guadalupanas) donated a total of $15,276 (223:03/01/70) from Bingos games and dances. The total of fiestas, bazaars, candles, Bingo and dance income accounted for 36% of parish income.
In 1969, when parish income was $50,619.60 (223: 02/02/69), the income from two of the three weekly Bingo games was equivalent to 20% of entire income of the parish including the Sunday Collection and the income from the annual church bazaar. By April 1970, the three Bingo nights were the parish's biggest source of income (213) and by June 1971, the income from Bingo exceeded the Sunday Collection.
In early January 1970, the total Sunday collection for 1969 was reported as $39,034.56 (223:01/04/70). Other income was $5,988 from bazaar and fiestas, $8,206 from school tuition, $744 from school monthly envelopes (Second Collection) and $653 from sales of candles. Three organizations (PTA, Socios and Guadalupanas) donated a total of $15,276 (223:03/01/70), mostly from Bingo profits.
In 1971, when the total from Sunday collections was $31,654.84, the Socios reported income from Bingos of $14,383.91 and income from dances of $2,705.42. The PTA reported income from Friday night Bingos of $9,638.51. The income from the Socios bingos was used to pay the interest and principal on the school and the new hall ($13,992.50 (223:01/03/71). In May 1971, income from Monday Bingo was $1,046; income from Wednesday Bingo was $1,325 and income from Friday Bingo was $1,046 for a total of $3,417. By comparison the five Sunday Collections for May came to a total of $2,617 (223:06/06/71).
In October 1983, the pastor reported that, "The proceeds from this Fiesta come at a most opportune and critical time. We need the money not only to pay some immediate bills on the expansion and remodeling of the Church but also to help finance our CCD program" (223:09/10/83). The net profit from the Fall Fiesta of 1983 was $14,184. The Sunday Collections was $149,537 for the year for a total parish income of $222,765 (223:12/02/84).
Pledges and fundraising campaigns
Rev. Houser asked his parishioners to make pledges at least twice in 1963 and 1964. In the spring of 1963, San José parishioners pledged to contribute $708 per week to the Sunday Collection. (The Sunday Collection was actually around $419 per week) (223:05/19/63). After the Sunday Collection fell to $350 in the fall of 1964, the pastor began a six-week fundraising campaign that increased the Sunday Collection to a maximum of $527. He knew that the parishioners wanted a new school but could not afford it unless contributions increased (223:12/27/64).
After Rev. John Haley became pastor in 1968, the parish began a Parish Fundraising Campaign that resulted in pledges worth $1,400 per Sunday (compared to the average Sunday collection of $496 the previous year). The Sunday Collection did increase to an average of $600 in January to $700 in February and $900 in March (223:03/16/69). Collections peaked at Easter at $1,000 then dropped to from $600 to $900 (213) until it dropped to $700 per week in October 1969 (223:10/26/69). The purpose of the fundraising drive was to pay the debt on the new San José Community Center (223:10/26/69). The pastor reported that Sunday Collections from January to September 1969 were $27,042. The year before at that time it was $18,493. This means that collections were up some $9,990 for the year as a result of the Fundraising Campaign (213).
In April 1970, volunteers met at the school to begin visiting the families to check on their pledges from the Parish Fundraising Campaign (223:04/15/70). The parishioners pledged $1,400 per week but Sunday collections averaged only $570 in January and February 1970. Prior to the home visits, the Finance Committee of Parish Council spoke at all Masses on April 19 telling them that they would be visited that afternoon (223:04/12/70). At 2:00PM on April 19 each home was visited. Parishioners were asked to be at home at 2:00PM to meet with the campaigners (223:04/19/70).
The parish asked parishioners to contribute of their time and talents as well as their income. In 1981, a Stewardship Commitment form was distributed to San José parishioners with a long list of suggested activities for which volunteers were needed (223:06/09/1981). The Sunday Bulletin regularly listed volunteer opportunities, usually with parish organizations. The pastor refused to give the mailing list of the parishioners of San Jose to other Catholic organizations. "Your Pastor did not give them the list because we cannot even meet our own Parish financial needs" (223:10/07/83).
In the absence of formal campaigns, the pastor did not usually hesitate to beg for money. In 1984, the pastor asked parishioners for a tithe of 10% (8% for the Regular Sunday Collection and 2% for the monthly St. Vincent de Paul Collection (223:22/01/84). In 1985, parishioners were urged to Tithe and Lee Polanco and Tony Cruz talked at Masses during the last two weekends to that end (223: 05/05/1985). The pastor said the campaign was a success and that Sunday Collections increased from $5,000 in April to $8,925 in May (223:12/05/1985).
In March 1986, the parishioners committed to increase their donations to pay for adding another wing on the second church (223:23/03/1986) (223:11/05/1986). When construction on the third church was finally underway, the pastor announced the beginning of a program to increase Sunday collections to the amount needed to pay the new church. The program was called, "Annual tithing and Sacrificial Offering Program". The goal of the program was to increase the Sunday Collection from less than $8,000 per week to $10,300 per week (223:11/10/1987).
After pledge cards were returned on October 25, the Sunday Collection increased to $10,307.17 (from $6,950.19 the previous week). Parishioners pledged 10% or 4 hours/week or 8% or 5% or 2% (1 hour/week) (223:12/10/1987).
In February 1989, the pastor was seeking volunteers to help with the annual sacrificial-giving telephone calling campaign (223:12/02/89). In November, Underwood gave a special Tithing Renewal on Saturday in the main church. After the Tithing Renewal, the Sunday Collection exceeded $13,000 for the first time. The Pastor recognized that the collection on the second Sunday of the month was the largest because people who are paid by the month tithe on that day (223:12/11/1989).
Later, the pastor complained that "people take a vacation from God" during the summer. The collection dropped to $9,413.48 when want was needed was $13,000. He also commented that, "It is amazing how many pennies, nickles, dimes, quarters and $1 bills are in every collection" (223:22/07/1990) (223:12/08/1990). The Annual Tithing and Sacrificial Offering Renewal began in October 25 1990 when parishioners filled out INTENT cards. The pastor reprinted some comments from poor parishioners who nevertheless pledged to the church (223:02/12/1990). The collection increased from $13,000 to $17,974, "the largest ever and this was on the fourth Sunday, which is usually the lowest collection". On November 1, commitment cards were offered to those whose did not attend on October 25.
The Sunday Collection was not the only opportunity to donate to the parish. In April 1985, Lenten Offering Cans were to be placed in containers next to the Altar during Mass on Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday and Easter Sunday (223: 31/03/1985). The Lenten Sacrifices totaled $1,458.96 and was divided between four persons (Joe Rocha, John Riojas, Eric Dominguez and Cruz Vásquez) ($364.74 each) who had large medical and hospital bills (223: 28/04/1985).
In December 1967, the parish council scheduled a monthly second collection to help pay the costs of operating the parish school (213). The cost of running the parish school was $20,320 per year of which tuition covered only $8,442 (223:01/21/68). The Parish Council was debating whether or not to close the school and decided the use the second collection on the 4th Sunday of each month for school expenses (223:01/28/68). The Second Collection for the school averaged less than $20 per week and during an 11-month period the Sunday Second Collection for the School amounted to only $723 (213). In 1969, the second collection for the school had receipts of $744. The income from this Second Collection in 1970 was $478.89 (223:01/31/71). This collection had special envelopes (223:03/01/70). On November 1, 1970, the second collection for the school (called School Aid) was replaced by a second collection for Church Debt Reduction in hopes that the amount collected would increase and because, "We feel that the debt belongs to all of us" (223:11/01/70).
Often the Sunday Bulletin announced the beneficiary of the second collection for the coming Sunday (223:10/11/70). Sometimes special envelopes were passed out the Sunday before the collection (223:10/18/70). The parish was usually generous to visiting clergy and religious and a second collection was taken for two Dominican Sisters from Mexico in March 1971 (223:03/14/71). A collection in March 1976 for the Maryknoll Missioners to benefit Guatemalan earthquake victims collected $1,600. Rev. Lawrence Bauer made a label that was distributed with the Sunday Bulletin to be attached to a jar used to collect loose change during Lent. "We will give this money to the Bishop for the poor" (223:07/03/76). The Elementary CCD children donated $66.63 for Guatemala Earthquake relief (223:21/03/76). Rev. Tom Frank popularized the collection of loose change during Lent and it became a diocesan project.
Rev. John Hailey also encouraged parishioners to donate canned or packaged food on the first Sunday of each month for a food pantry at San Jose Church to assist the poor (223: 26/09/71).
A Conference of the Society of Saint Vincent De Paul was formed at San José in December 1963. Sometime prior to March 1972, the parish began taking a second collection for the Saint Vincent De Paul Society (223: 05/03/72), usually on the first or second Sunday of each month (223:07/021985). The collection for Saint Vincent De Paul has continued ever since. Until 2016, the money was sent to the Joint San José-St. Ignatius Conference that operated to food pantry on the campus of St. Ignatius Church. The San Vincent De Paul Society is described in another article.
The income from the Second Collections was usually reported the following week in the Sunday Bulletin (223: 05/03/72). Other second collections were for the Bishop's Relief Fund (223:14/03/76), Latin America (223: 03/02/1985), Black and Indian Missions (223: 03/03/1985), Holy Cross seminarians (223: 17/08/1986), Propagation of the Faith) (223:23/10/1988), Bangladesh (223:05/05/1991) and the Campaign for Human Development (223:14/11/1993).
The recipient of the second collection was always announced the week prior and the total was listed apart from the Parish Income. The amount of the second collection was relatively stable regardless of the announced recipient. The exceptions to this were collections for Father Schmidt's mission (223:24/07/1988) and Saint Vincent De Paul. Those collections were usually higher than the average. The amount of the Second Collection increased over the years from about $200 in 1982 (223:19/12/82) to about $1,500 in 1991 (223:05/19/1991). In recent years, the Second Collection is often over $3,000 per week.
When the Second Collection was for Mexico Earthquake Victims in September 1985, the pastor added 10% of the Sunday Collection of $6,274.03 ($628.78) to make a total donation of $2,500.00 (223:29/09/1985).
Diocesan Expansion Fund
The Diocesan Expansion Fund and the Diocesan Development Fund were predecessors to the Catholic Services or Catholic Sharing Appeals. In June 1965, Rev. Houser explained that, "Bishop Louis J. Reicher asked us for 1% of the 10% of that we give to God. We are to visit all homes on Sunday, August 15. We need Chairman, Vice Chairman, Auditor, six captains and helpers (223:06/06/65). The men who volunteered to fill these jobs were, by and large, members of the Sociedad del Sagrado Corazón de Jesús.
Henry Calderon volunteered to be the Auditor but he passed away in July. The pastor said, "May his Soul rest in peace. We now need another volunteer for this post" (223:07/25/65). In August, the Chairman was John Anguiano, Auditor Sam Guerra, Vice Chairmen José Rocha, José Uriégas, Jose González, Frutoso Hipolito, Lorenzo Hernandez, Jerome Estrada and Tom Longoria. "Each chairman must bring five captains to the meeting on Monday, August 2, 7:30PM. Each captain must bring five team members. The day of visiting homes is September 19" (223:08/01/65). "On that day, we hope to receive from every family a promise of 5% for San José Parish and 1% for the Diocese of Austin" (223:07/25/65).
The names of some captains were printed in the Sunday Bulletin for August 8 (223:08/08/65) and others on August 22 (223:08/22/65) and September 5 (223:09/05/65). The August 22 Sunday Bulletin contained instructions for parents of families who were visited (223:08/22/65). Each family was asked to give 1% of their annual income to the Diocese.
The pastor asked that, "Everyone please remain home next Sunday for the Visit between 1:30-5:30PM" (223:09/12/65). "All workers will meet at Church at 1:00PM. There will be Rosary and Benediction. After that, the Men will visit our families. There will be a second card for our Parish for 1966. On that card, you write the amount of your offering for 1966" (223:09/05/65). On September 26, it was announced that $4,475 was pledged for the Diocese (223:09/26/65).
The next month, the Chairmen, Captains and Assistants visited homes that were missed on September 26. After all pledges were tallied, San Jose promised $4,887.56 with $723.28 already turned in (223:10/10/65). Fr. Houser asked the men who were Home Visitors during the Diocesan Campaign to help children on their street to attend Doctrina classes (223:09/26/65).
The Diocesan fundraising campaign was repeated in 1966. It began with a Diocesan Campaign Big Meeting on August 29 for all our Men in the school at 7:30PM. The Sunday Bulletins of August 28 and September 4 listed the names of the Chairman, Vice Chairmen (8) and Captains (6) (223:08/28/66). The day to turn in pledges was September 25. The Diocese asked for one cent for each dollar earned. "We really want to push the tithing of San Jose, 5%. You Chairmen, Captains and Team Workers, encourage every wage earner to give to God's Works here" (223:09/04/66). "We need the tables to prepare the cards for visiting the homes on September 25" (223:09/11/66). "All Captains need 5 Team Workers". "While visiting the homes, talk first on helping San Jose with Tithes. We need it here. All who can (and try) please give the Diocesan Fund one cent on each dollar earned" (223:09/11/66).
On the afternoon of Sunday, September 25, 1966, the men visited all registered parishioners. "They will ask for a tithe and a minimum of $1 a Sunday. All families receive envelopes weekly so there is no need for pledge cards. For the Diocese, pledge cards were signed. Envelopes for installment payments were provided for October, November and January". People were also asked to make a pledge for three years for a Catholic High School (223:09/18/66). Names of Chairman (Enrique Saenz) and Audtior (Sam Guerra) and Vice Chairmen were listed in Sunday Bulletin for September 25, 1966 (223:09/25/66).
The 1966 campaign resulted in $443.14 in cash and pledges of $4,367.44 for the Diocese and the high school (223:10/02/66). This included $17 for the high school in cash and pledges of $1206.80 over three years. The total was $300 more than the previous year (223:10/09/66).
In September 1967, Chairman Enrique Saenz, Captains and team members of the combined Diocesan Expansion Fund Drive and parish fund drive met at Sunday September 24 at 1:30PM and visited each home in the parish begging money for the diocese and the parish (223:09/24/67). The men went out again on October 1 (223:10/01/67).
On September 15, 1968, the pledge cards for the Diocesan Expansion Fund were placed at the church entrance. Families that did not pick theirs up were visited in their homes. The Team Captains and their teams met on September 17 to plan the visits (223:09/08/68). The collection was taken September 22 and each home visited to collect the pledges (223:09/15/68).
The 1969 campaign for the Diocesan Expansion Fund began September 21. Every family was contacted. Israel Rodriguez was the Chairman for San José Parish (223:08/31/69).
On September 20, 1970, pledge cards were located in front of the church. Each family was urged to find their card and sign it. Those who could were urged to make a pledge for the Diocesan Expansion Fund (223:09/13/70). The cards that were not signed were mailed to the homes (223:09/20/70). Most of the cards were not signed that Sunday so they were mailed the homes and parishioners instructed to return them next Sunday and put them in the basket (223:09/27/70). Very few cards were returned. The priest reminded the parishioners to sign and turn them in even if they could not pledge (223:10/18/70).
The 1978 Diocesan Development Fund campaign kicked off November 11. The money raised was for special works of the Diocese (223:11/11/78). San José pledged $1,800 (223:19/11/78). Pledges exceeded the parish goal. $2,295 was given or pledged by Nov. 26 (223:26/11/78).
The 1982 Diocesan Development Fundraiser kicked off November 7 with a letter from Bishop Harris (223:07/11/82). Pledge envelopes were available (223:14/11/82). San Jose pledged $800 (223:28/11/82). Pledges continued to come in until December (223:19/12/82). Each year until 1986, the Diocesan Development Fund took pledges from San Jose parishioners. In 1983, parishioners pledged $19,392.00, in 1984 $19,735.00 and in 1985 $21,272.00 (223: 17/11/1985). Bishop Harris reported that this DDF campaign was a great success and the 9,667 pledges totaled $582,581.86 (223: 26/01/1986).
Catholic Services Appeal Drive
The Catholic Services Appeal is a once a year appeal by the Bishop to support all the agencies and works of the Diocese. Parishioners make a pledge on the last weekend of September (223:24/11/1989).
The Catholic Services Appeal Fundraising Drive began at all Masses on November 2, 1986 (223:02/11/1986). The parish exceeded its goal of $12,000 and pledged $15,612.85 (223:23/11/1986). The next year, 1987, the parish pledged $19,841.65 toward its goal of $18,000 (223: 22/11/1987). In 1988, the weekend of November 6 was CSA pledge Sunday (223:30/10/1988). The parish pledged $17,581.38 towards the goal of $20,000 (223:20/11/1988). In 1989, the parish exceeded its goal of $20,000 in pledges (223:05/08/1990).
In August 1990, the Bishop informed the pastor that San José parishioners had pledged more than $20,000 but, by August, had only sent in $10,473. The pastor urged his parishioners to "help our good Bishop out. He is counting on us" (223:05/08/1990). Being asked to pay on their promises tempered the enthusiasm of San Jose parishioners and in 1990 they pledged $15,565 to Catholic Sharing Appeal (223:25/11/1990). By October 1992, 413 families had pledged $15,243 (223:11/10/1992). In 1993,
429 families pledged $16,736 to the CSA (223:10/10/1993).